Delaware Stonewall Endorses Candidates


At a packed house at Rigby’s Restaurant in Rehoboth Beach at its 15th annual Summer fundraiser, including Senate President Pro Tempore David McBride, House Speaker Pete Schwartzkopf, US Senator Tom Carper and US Representative Lisa Blunt Rochester, and about a dozen other elected officials, Delaware Stonewall PAC, an advocacy group for LGBT Delawarians, announced its endorsements of 31 candidates seeking office this calendar year.

Mitch Crane, the organization’s political Vice President indicated that “endorsements were based on their voting records or on their responses to questionnaires prepared by the organization.”

In addition, the organization honored retiring Representative Bryon Short for his long history of supporting and in some cases leading the charge in passing legislation supporting equality for all, and CAMP Rehoboth for its continuing advocacy work for the LGBT community.

Following is a list of endorsed candidates who as of now face no primary opposition.

State Senate candidates

Laura Sturgeon, Senate 4
David Baker, Senate 6
Stephanie Hansen, Senate 10
Bryan Townsend, Senate 11
Trey Paradee, Senate 17

State House of Representatives candidates

Stephanie Bolden, House 2
Helene Keeley, House 3
Debra Heffernan, House 6
Debbie Harrington, House 9
Krista Griffith, House 12
Pete Schwartzkopf, House 14
Valerie Longhurst, House 15
Melissa Minor-Brown, House 17
David Bentz, House 18
Kim Williams, House 19
John Bucchioni, House 20
Mike Ramone, House 21
Paul Baumbach, House 23
Ed Osienski, House 24
John Kowalko, House 25
John Viola, House 26
Sean Lynn, House 31
Don Allan, House 36

Senate Endorsed candidates facing a September 6 primary

Bobbie Cummings, Senate 2
Tizzie Lockman, Senate 3

House Endorsed candidates facing a September 6 primary

Joe Daigle, House 7
Jakim Mohammed, House 16
Renee Taschner, House 22

Delaware Stonewall PAC also endorsed some outstanding candidates who are running for Statewide offices, by endorsing Kathy Jennings for Attorney General and Kathy McGuiness for State Auditor, both of whom will face primary opponents. We also endorsed State Treasurer candidate, Colleen Davis, who has no primary opponent.

The General Election is November 6.

Share it on